Marquis de Saydrah

Because I’ve moved from thinking, “I’ve GOT to blog that!” to doing it.

Strange Things My Dog Has Eaten Lately July 1, 2008

Filed under: Animals — saydrah @ 5:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

So, I’m a raw feeder. I give my dog a balanced, species-appropriate diet of raw meat, bone, and organs, based on a whole prey model. This, in my opinion, is the best diet for dogs, because it most closely resembles what thousands of years of evolution designed the canine digestive tract to process and the canine mouth and teeth to consume. The raw food helps clean his teeth, keep his immune system healthy, gives him a thick, shiny coat, build lean muscle, and he loves it. However, some people find it unendingly amusing to look through my freezer at all the strange things I feed my dog. So, in case some of those people read my blog, a short list of things in my freezer/that my dog has eaten lately:

 

  • Pork hocks
  • Whole Mackerel (Wholly Mackerel!)
  • Ground Venison
  • Elk Chops
  • Chicken Feet
  • Pork Liver
  • Buffalo Kidney
  • Lamb Chops
  • Whole Guinea Fowl
  • Turkey Necks
  • Ground Antelope
  • Ox Tails

 

Unfortunately, I still can’t seem to find any thymus, pancreas, or spleen!

 

Oh, and for the vegans/veggies in the crowd– I largely avoid meat (though I’m not a vegetarian), and I try to make sure the meat I buy for Gus is humanely raised, or buy meat from hunters who I know do everything possible to hunt humanely. The beef and pork in the freezer right now are from a guy who raises a steer and a pig every year to feed his family, and never sends them to a feedlot. But, the dog is a carnivore, carnivores need meat, and I’d rather see what meat he’s getting than feed him something out of a bag.

 

Leave a Reply

